The ReaList: 5 Things I Took Away From Drake’s Nothing Was The Same

drakeNWTSdeluxe

In this edition of The ReaList, I’m gonna talk about the five things I took away from Drake‘s latest effort Nothing Was The Same. I’m going to try and keep this short since most you will be reading from your phones and frankly it’s hot as Satan’s taint in the room I’m in, and I’m hungry.

5. Sampha’s phone is blowing up as we speak.

tyrone_sampha

For those who aren’t familiar; Sampha was a frequent collaborator for the group SBTRKT, the group is more know for their remixes of popular songs from a variety of artist like M.I.A., Mark Ronson, Radiohead, The xx, Chairlift and others. Sampha has worked with Jessie Ware, Drake, Lil Silva, just to name a few. I wouldn’t expect too many folks to be knowledgeable when it comes to his catalog, but with these recent Drake collabs — The Motion and Too Much, which are both really fresh songs, expect more folks to be dialing up his number for more good music. When artists talk about their big break; this is Sampha Sisay’s.

4. We needed more 5am In Toronto, Lord Knows, 9am In Dallas, and Fear tracks.

drake-grammy-drink

Listen, I’m a Drake fan, but god damn when he starts really rapping, that’s when I trip the blind and curse out the deaf. Tuscan Leather had that feel to it, so not all was lost, but the album still missed that one true hip hop banger that I was expecting, at least. Instead of just letting tracks like 5am In Toronto float around in obsecurity, throw that shit on #NWTS. To this day that is his hardest song and easily one of the hardest in hip hop this year.

Yes, I’m currently playing Tuscan Leather as I write this up.

3. Pound Cake is wack.

drake-beyonce-and-jay-z-at-2013-grammys

Yes, Pound Cake is ass. All the hype surrounding this song and it fell short, like really short. Drake came through laid some decent groundwork, enough to let Grandmaster Hov come in and demolish everything, but no. This negro spent half of his verse making cake puns. You would think Entenmann’s had him on the payroll. Outside of that, the bars were just lackluster and could put you to sleep faster than Juan Manuel Marquez counterpunch.

Cake, cake-cake, cake-cake, cake
500 million, I got a pound cake
Niggas is fronting, that’s upside-down cake
Get ’em a red nose, they clown cakes
They shoulda never let you ’round cake
Look at my neck, I got a carrot cake
Now here’s the icing on the cake
Cake, cake-cake, cake-cake, uhh

Fuck out of here with this, man.

2. Who the hell is Detail?

drake_detail

I’ve never heard of Detail ever in life. Now I’m finding out that he is a producer for YMCMB and it also seems that he has had his hands in producing How To Love and No Worries. Not bad, but I didn’t think that was him on the hook, not that he sounded bad, I just figured that would be a slot filled for PartyNextDoor or maybe The-Dream. However, the track is dope to say the least.

1. Take Care is better than Nothing Was The Same.

Drake_BW

I thoroughly enjoy NWTS, but I feel there are a lot more songs I can vibe to on Take Care. My feelings are that when Drake and 40 are in studio they make unstoppable music when it comes to a full body of work, and that’s what made Take Care so good. With the clusterfuck of producers on NWTS it gave me a slight flashback to Thank Me Later, and that album was terrible by Drake standards. Nothing Was The Same is very much a great album, but I feel the sequencing of it is a bit off, like songs go to together but they were supposed to be on another album.

To this day So Far Gone is Drake’s best project. Don’t even debate me.

2 thoughts on “The ReaList: 5 Things I Took Away From Drake’s Nothing Was The Same

  1. Did you see Sampha and him on Jimmy Fallon? It sounded damn good. What track was that? And judging by that verse you posted, Pound Cake sounds like one of the wackest songs in the world. I will avoid it, thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

