The ReaList: My Favorite 12 Songs Of The Year

CJ

Every website in the world will be publishing their end of the year lists, so I figured I’d jump into the fray as well. The only difference is that I have zero allegiance with any of these artists and I say whatever the hell I feel.

Some of these songs you may be familiar with or not. The whole point is to hopefully bring some new tunes into your life.

And if you haven’t noticed; WordPress shut my other sites down. But we back up in this hoe!

Side Note: The list isn’t in any particular order.


game-2012)

The Game – Black Jesus

Plain and simple; the production from SAP made everything sinister about my being turn to the Lord. The soulful loop combined with the vocals made me want to go to church and impregnate a nun, religiously.

jhene-aiko-040212

Jhené Aiko – 2 Seconds

If you know me then you know I don’t stan over anybody; Jhené Aiko is the only exception. She hasn’t put out anything new as of yet, but rest assured I’ll be one that Souled Out album when Def Jam frees it up.

euphoria-cover

Moruf & Iman Omari – The Path

When it comes to Jersey artists I always have to give them a listen (not all though), and this duo dropped a fly ass project way out of left field. Check out Euphoria.

Azealia-Banks

Azealia Banks – ESTA NOCHE

Azealia Banks is surrounded by controversy and hoodrat tendencies, with that said, I love this song; from the Montell Jordan sample to the high horns that damn near left me deaf (never listen to this on full blast whilst wearing Beats By Dre’s).

Mickey-Factz1

Mickey Factz – Mickey MauSe

Rapping over a developing dance beat is just something I couldn’t ignore. So when this fell into my lap and into my iTunes I was hooked immediately. Snatch his mixtape Mickey Mau5e.

d-why-fashion1

D-WHY – Stealin’ Youth

For all you romantics with edge; this song is for you. Not only is it soulful and hip hoppity, it has a certain edge about it that’ll make some of the hardest dudes bop their heads to this. Song is just dope.

Joanna JoJo Levesque at 2012 Teen Choice Awards (Universal City, USA, July 22, 2012)

JoJo – Demonstrate

Noah “40” Shebib was enough to make me wanted give this a spin, but when I hear JoJo put her foot in this, I was sold. It’s still weird hearing her talk about sex since she’s been on the scene for so long. *shrugs*

mac1

Mac Miller – Clarity

This song just speaks to my former pothead ways. There’s much to it, it just makes me want to light up, be anti-social, and laugh at stupid shit.

bluexile-giveme

Blu & Exile f. Homeboy Sandman & ADaD – The Great Escape

Outside of the production; Homeboy Sandman’s verse is the only reason this gets spins. Blu wasn’t bad, but Sandman bodied the shit out of the song. Just skip to his verse and become engulfed with real hip hop.

Action-Bronson-Contemporary1

Action Bronson – 9-24-11

Arguably one of the best project this year; Bronson and Party Supplies dropped the most pleasing mixtape to hip hop purist such as myself. 9-24-11 stood out the most for me due to its originality and freestyle-ish vibe.

meek-mill-rick-ross

Meek Mill – Intro

Mr. ALL CAPS RAPS dropped this intro and completely changed everyone’s outlook on his album, and it was a great move. When the beat turns up, I want break everything in site and drink ridiculous amounts Everclear. Yes, this song is the meaning of “turn up.”

kids-these-days_

Kids These Days – I Don’t Know

The kids from Chicago have been making quite the splash this year, and this is the song that made me a fan, instantly. And yes, the play real instruments. Expect big things from these kids.

Leave a Reply

